Bylaws change notice:

The Board of Governors has reviewed the CMS Bylaws. Currently, there are seven (7) standing committees required, with chairs appointed each year by the President:

- (1) Continuing Medical Education
- (2) Physician/Patient Relations
- (3) Public Information
- (4) Legislative Affairs
- (5) Membership
- (6) Publications
- (7) Physician Recovery Network

All other committees will be appointed by the President and approved by the Board of Governors.

Membership associations across the country are streamlining their organizations to meet the more immediate and changing needs of their membership. Since four of the committees named in our Bylaws are generally inactive, the Board is recommending that the Bylaws be updated to retain the following three as required standing Committees:

- (1) Continuing Medical Education
- (2) Membership
- (3) Publications

The Board further recommends the following change:

(1) The Physician/Patient Relations, Public Information, Legislative Affairs, Physician Recovery Network and all other committees will be appointed by the President and approved by the Board of Governors as needed for a specified project or time-period as determined by the Board.

These changes will be voted on in the November general membership meeting. If any CMS member wishes to view the current Bylaws and the wording changes before then, please contact Sue Conte at sconte@capmed.org or 877-9018.